Salted Caramel Cupcakes

IMG_0346

It is a well known fact that I have an extreme dislike for cupcakes. It’s not that I hate the taste of them because I don’t. It’s the fact that cupcakes literally went through a phase of being everywhere! They were on posters, people using them as wedding cakes, used as decor. As opinionated and miserable as I may sound, I hated it and I can’t even explain why. But since having my daughter, I am starting to appreciate the girly things in life and tolerate more things than I used to. When I saw this recipe, it was a no brainer for me. I had to eat these cupcakes. Now Please be kind about the photo of them. They are the messiest things to make but my goodness, they do taste good. For anyone who’s on a diet these have 400 calories a cake so if you’re going to have a day off from dieting, then I strongly recommend these cakes.

Recipe:

Cupcake

150g dark cooking chocolate

150g softened, unsalted butter

150g golden caster sugar

3 large eggs (free range preferably)

150g self raising flower

75ml soured cream

Topping

40g dark chocolate

Salted caramel sauce (I got mine from Marks and Spencers)

1) Preheat the oven to 180˚C/gas mark 4.  Melt 150g of cooking chocolate on the hob or in the microwave. (I did it in the microwave, it’s so much easier!)

2)Beat together the butter and sugar until light and creamy and then add the eggs one by one along with a teaspoon of flour. After this add the flour, sour cream and melted chocolate and mix together.

IMG_0340

3)Put the cakes in your cake tray and put in the oven for 20-25 minutes.

IMG_0341

4) After they are cooked, add generous dollops of salted caramel sauce over the top and then drizzle melted chocolate over the top. Put in the fridge to set the topping.

IMG_0342

5) Eat and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

