Auf Wiedersehen Deutschland!

IMG_1720When I found out that I was pregnant with Isla, the idea of actually doing my year abroad seemed impossible but yet here I am, having completed my first half of my year abroad already! After having spent 7 months here in Germany, I wouldn’t say I’m fluent in the language, but I’ve definitely come a long way. Here’s a list of things I’ve learned during my time here:

1) If you have no idea what someone is saying to you, Genau! or Alles Klar! gets you everywhere.

2) Whenever someone asks in a shop if I need a bag, I never ever understand it even though I know the question is coming.

3) Don’t park your bike on a tree. I found out the hard way with an earful off our friendly neighbour.

4) If travelling with Nord West Bahn, just accept the fact that your train will be late, and it is likely that you will never arrive at your destination.

5) If you aren’t wearing a giant coat, hat, gloves, scarf and boots even when its warm, then you look like a tourist.

6) Euro pop is incredible.

7) The rubbish system never gets any easier, in fact I’m more confused by it now than when I moved here.

8) Queuing doesn’t exist here, try not to take it personally and use it to your advantage.

9) If you make one slip up when speaking German to someone, you’ve missed the boat and just give in to the fact that your conversation with this person will remain in English from now on.

10) After being told that German people don’t binge drink, I was pleasantly surprised to see our respectable neighbours dressed in gimp masks and pink wigs falling over drunk at Karneval. If you thought you knew German people, then Karneval can be quick to change all your opinions and show that German people are incredibly fun.

All in all, I am so sad to be leaving this beautiful country, and have been fortunate to have the most wonderful first family home here, but now we must move on to France! On a final note..Super Deutschland Olé Olé!!

One thought on “Auf Wiedersehen Deutschland!

  1. Hi Sarah, sounds like a good set of snippets to help with life in Germany – hope your move goes smoothly – French is the next language to become fluent in – I look forward to your parting observations from Biaritz – euro pop ?????
    Say hi to Harry and hug Isla. I have had an offer accepted on a lovely little georgian house in Ludlow (major renovation) so maybe see you all there sometime. Good luck. Andy xx

Leave a Reply

